What’S The Presidents Trophy In Hockey

The Presidents’ Trophy in hockey is awarded annually to the team with the best regular-season record in the National Hockey League (NHL). Here are five supporting facts about the Presidents’ Trophy:
1. Establishment: The Presidents’ Trophy was introduced in the 1985-1986 NHL season and was awarded for the first time to the Edmonton Oilers.

2. Recognition: The trophy is named in honor of the office of the President of the NHL, which is currently held by Gary Bettman.

3. Regular Season Excellence: Winning the Presidents’ Trophy signifies a team’s remarkable consistency and dominance throughout the regular season, as they have performed better than any other team in terms of overall record.

4. Home-Ice Advantage: The team that wins the Presidents’ Trophy is awarded home-ice advantage throughout the entire playoffs, including the Stanley Cup Finals if they advance.

5. Success Rate: Historically, winning the Presidents’ Trophy does not guarantee playoff success. In fact, only nine out of thirty-three Presidents’ Trophy winners have gone on to win the Stanley Cup in the same season.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about the Presidents’ Trophy:

1. How is the winner determined?
– The team that finishes the regular season with the best overall record in the NHL is awarded the Presidents’ Trophy.

2. Is it possible for a team to win both the Presidents’ Trophy and the Stanley Cup in the same year?
– Yes, it is possible. However, as mentioned earlier, only nine out of thirty-three winners have accomplished this feat so far.

3. What happens if two or more teams have the same number of points at the end of the regular season?
– In case of a tie, the winner is determined by tie-breaking rules, which include factors like regulation and overtime wins.

4. Have any teams won the Presidents’ Trophy multiple times?
– Yes, several teams have won the trophy multiple times, including the Detroit Red Wings and the Washington Capitals.

5. Can a team win the Presidents’ Trophy and still miss the playoffs?
– While it is highly unlikely, theoretically, it is possible for a team to win the Presidents’ Trophy and still miss the playoffs if they finish the regular season with a lower points percentage due to a significant number of shootout losses.

6. Do players also receive individual awards for their performances in the regular season?
– Yes, throughout the NHL, there are various individual awards, such as the Hart Memorial Trophy for the Most Valuable Player and the Art Ross Trophy for the top scorer.

7. What are some notable winners of the Presidents’ Trophy in recent years?
– In recent years, notable winners include the Tampa Bay Lightning (2019-20 and 2018-19 seasons) and the Nashville Predators (2017-18 season).

BOTTOM LINE: The Presidents’ Trophy is one of the most prestigious awards in the NHL, recognizing the team with the best regular-season record. While winning the trophy does not guarantee playoff success, it provides home-ice advantage and showcases a team’s outstanding performance throughout the season.