Icing in hockey is a rule that is implemented to maintain fairness and prevent teams from taking advantage of defensive strategies. When a team commits icing, play is stopped and a faceoff is conducted in the defensive zone of the team that committed the infraction. Here are five supporting facts about how icing works in hockey:
1. Definition of icing: Icing occurs when a player shoots the puck from their side of the red center line, across the opposing team’s goal line, and the puck is untouched by any player before crossing the goal line.
2. Intent behind the rule: The icing rule is intended to discourage teams from simply shooting the puck down the ice to relieve pressure on their defensive zone without making any effort to maintain possession or create a scoring opportunity.
3. Exceptions: Icing is not called if a team is short-handed (i.e., playing with fewer skaters due to a penalty), or if the puck is shot after crossing the red center line but before crossing the goal line.
4. Automatic icing vs. hybrid icing: In some leagues, like the National Hockey League (NHL), hybrid icing is implemented. This means that if the linesman determines that the defending player would have reached the puck first, icing is called even if the attacking player is closer to the puck.
5. Effect on the game: Icing results in a stoppage of play and a faceoff in the defensive zone of the team that committed the infraction. This allows the opposing team to potentially set up an offensive play and put additional pressure on the team that iced the puck.
Here are seven detailed FAQs about icing in hockey:
1. Can a team still score if icing is called against them?
– No, icing results in a stoppage of play, and no goals can be scored directly off an icing call. A faceoff takes place in the defending team’s zone instead.
2. Why do some leagues have hybrid icing while others have automatic icing?
– The implementation of hybrid icing is primarily done to prevent potential collisions between players racing towards the puck. It offers a compromise between allowing chasing players a chance to negate icing and protecting players from dangerous situations.
3. What happens if a player touches the puck before it crosses the goal line?
– If a player from the defending team touches the puck before it crosses the goal line, icing is waved off, and play continues without any repercussions.
4. Can a team that iced the puck make a line change during the stoppage of play?
– No, during an icing call, the team that committed the infraction is not allowed to make any player substitutions. The same players on the ice during the icing must remain on for the ensuing faceoff.
5. Can a goaltender leave their crease to play the puck during an icing call?
– Yes, goaltenders are allowed to leave their crease and play the puck during an icing call. However, they need to be cautious as the opposing team may try to pressure them and create a scoring opportunity.
6. Is icing called during powerplays or penalty kills?
– Icing is not called when a team is on a powerplay or penalty kill. This rule aims to prevent teams from simply clearing the puck down the ice to kill time or relieve pressure.
7. Are there any exceptions to hybrid icing in leagues that implement it?
– Yes, if the linesman determines that a skater from the attacking team had the opportunity to touch the puck before it crossed the goal line, icing may still be called, regardless of whether the defending player would have reached the puck first.
Icing in hockey is a rule that penalizes teams for shooting the puck down the ice without making any effort to maintain possession or create a scoring opportunity. It results in a stoppage of play and a faceoff in the defending team’s zone. While implementation may vary in different leagues, icing ensures fairness and discourages teams from taking advantage of defensive strategies.